Home
Special Services

Michelle Olds

Michelle Olds
Olds, Ms. Michelle
Special Services Admin. Asst.

Contact Us At:

91 Poorhouse Road

P.O. Box 10

Seale, Alabama 36875

Phone: (706) 321-2266 

 Fax: (334) 855-4830

Goals

The goals of the Special Services Department of Russell County School District are to:

  • Maximize each child's potential to live independently and participate in his/her community through learning, ...more

Addressing Disproportionality

Gifted Program

For more information on our Gifted Program, please read the Gifted Brochure

Welcome

The Special Education Department serves over 345 students from preschool to age twenty-one. The purpose is to identify, evaluate and appropriately instruct students with varying disabilities. For ...more

Dr. Vivian Relf

Vivian Relf

Director of Special Services

Relf, Dr. Vivian Special Education Director

Special Services Child Find

 What Is Child Find?

Child find is an effort by the Russell County School District to locate, identify and evaluate all children within its jurisdiction, 3 to 21 years of age, suspected of having a disability, to determine if he/she qualifies for special education services.  If you have questions or require additional information, please contact Dr. Vivian Relf, Director of Special Services at (706) 321-2266.

 

 Why Is Child Find important?

 Child Find helps the child, the family, and the provider to plan appropriate services and link families to services for students meeting eligibility requirements in the following disability areas:

  • Hearing Impairment                                           
  • Deaf- Blindness
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairment
  • Emotional Disability
  • Speech and Language Impairment
  • Visual Impairment
  • Specific Learning Disabilities
  • Autism
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Developmental Delay

Special Education Teachers

Dixie

Ashley Spivey – lynn@russellcsd.net   

Julie Newton – newtonj@russellcsd.net

Michelle Thompson – davism@russellcsd.net

Ladonia

Cile Parish – parishc@russellcsd.net

Jonnie Tinsley – tinsleyj@russellcsd.net

Lisa Trammell – trammelllisa@russellcsd.net

Michelle Wood – woodm@russellcsd.net

MOIS

Colleen Finn – finnc@russellcsd.net

Jessie Horn – hornj@russellcsd.net

Thenesia Crawl – crawlt@russellcsd.net

Oliver

Raven Garrett – garrettr@russellcsd.net

Terrance Darden – dardent@russellcsd.net

RCHS

Morris Oliver – oliverm@russellcsd.net

Erica Lee – leee@russellcsd.net

Michelle Sutley – sutleym@russellcsd.net

Marnii Peel – peelm@russellcsd.net

Stephen Mairtin – mairtins@russellcsd.net

RCMS

Katie Reynolds – reynoldsk@russellcsd.net

Laura Baker – bakerl@russellcsd.net

Michael Gabbard – gabbardm@russellcsd.net

Shavonnie Perkins – perkinss@russellcsd.net

MOPS

Sherin James – jamessh@russellcsd.net

Amanda Powell – powella@russellcsd.net

 

 

 

Problem Solving Team ( PST)

The Russell County School District’s Problem Solving Team (PST) provides immediate aid through an RTI plan for students in general education who are struggling academically and/or behaviorally. The ...more

TLC FUN

Section 504

The federal Government developed section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as a way to address the many disabilities not covered under IDEA. Section 504 is a far-reaching law that extends ...more

PST Forms

 

Power Point-Problem Solving Teams Overview

To download a copy of the fillable and savable file, please click here.