Special Services

Kuykendall, Andrea
Instruction Administrative Assistant

Contact Us At:

91 Poorhouse Road

P.O. Box 10

Seale, Alabama 36875

Phone: (706) 321-2266 

 Fax: (334) 855-0328

Goals

The goals of the Special Services Department of Russell County School District are to:

  • Maximize each child's potential to live independently and participate in his/her community through learning, ...more

Addressing Disproportionality

PST Forms

Mega PST Overview

To download a copy of the fillable and savable file, please click here.

 

Welcome

The Special Education Department serves over 345 students from preschool to age twenty-one. The purpose is to identify, evaluate and appropriately instruct students with varying disabilities. For ...more

Dr. Vivian Relf

Vivian Relf

Director of Special Services

Relf, Dr. Vivian Special Education Director

Welcome to Teachers Pay Teachers


 

Teachers Pay Teachers

Welcome to our vibrant community of over 4 million educators! Teachers Pay Teachers (TpT) was created by educators, for educators – to empower you to teach at your best.

Here are some important things to know as you get started:

  • Our resources are created by thousands of educators who we call “Teacher-Authors.” We believe that real educators create the most relevant and inspiring educational resources.
  • When you download or purchase any of our digital resources, they're stored in your account on TpT’s website and accessible from your computers, tablets, and smartphones.
  • To learn more about who we are, check out our Blog and Facebook page.

Fort Benning Field Day 2015!!

Special Services Child Find

 What Is Child Find?

Child find is an effort by the Russell County School District to locate, identify and evaluate all children within its jurisdiction, 3 to 21 years of age, suspected of having a disability, to determine if he/she qualifies for special education services.  If you have questions or require additional information, please contact Dr. Vivian Relf, Director of Special Services at (706) 321-2266.

 

 Why Is Child Find important?

 Child Find helps the child, the family, and the provider to plan appropriate services and link families to services for students meeting eligibility requirements in the following disability areas:

  • Hearing Impairment                                           
  • Deaf- Blindness
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Other Health Impairment
  • Emotional Disability
  • Speech and Language Impairment
  • Visual Impairment
  • Specific Learning Disabilities
  • Autism
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Developmental Delay

Directions and Links for Required Training

Addressing Disproportionality in Alabama Public Schools Professional Development has three components that must be conducted annually for all newly hired teachers, administrators, evaluators, and others, as appropriate.

 

Component One:

Addressing Disproportionality in Alabama Public Schools Awareness Presentation

Directions:

  1. Click the link or copy and paste into the URL window to download and view the presentation with notes. CLICK HERE

Component Two:

Positive Behavior Support (PBS)

The IRIS Center Module Resources

 

Directions:

  1. Review Navigating an IRIS STAR Legacy Module                                                        (http://iris.peabody.vanderbilt.edu/home/navigating-the-iris-website/navigating-an-iris-star-legacy-module/)                                                                                                                                      
  2. Classroom Management (Part 1): Learning the Components of a Comprehensive Behavior Management Plan

             Section 5 Assessment

             Use a word document or your own paper to answer questions 1-5. 

             Follow LEA requirements for submitting assessment documents.  

  1. Classroom Management (Part 2): Developing Your Own Comprehensive Behavior Management Plan

             Section 3 Perspectives & Resources Assessment

Once you have completed Perspectives & Resources return to page 9 to develop you own action plan. Follow LEA requirements for submitting assessment documents. 

 

Section 5 Assessment

Use a word document or your own paper to answer questions 1-5. 

Follow LEA requirements for submitting assessment documents.  

 

http://iris.peabody.vanderbilt.edu/module/beh2/cr_assess/#content

 

Component Three:

Makes Sense Strategies (MSS) Training

Directions:

  1. Go to the Alabama State Personnel Development Grant website
    Makes Sense Strategies Professional Development           http://www.alspdg.org/makessense_strategies_training.html
  2. Follow the detailed instructions to complete the MSS video series PD

After completing all components, submit required documentation to Dr. Vivian Relf, Special Services Director - Seale Campus

 

Special Education Teachers

Dixie

Ashley Spivey – lynna@russellcsd.net   

Julie Newton – newtonj@russellcsd.net

Nicole Oliver - olivern@russellcsd.net

Ladonia

Cile Parish – parishc@russellcsd.net

Johnnie Tinsley – tinsleyj@russellcsd.net

Lisa Trammell – trammelllisa@russellcsd.net

Michelle Wood – woodm@russellcsd.net

MOIS

Jessie Horn - hornj@russellcsd.net

Sarah Leverette - leverettes@russellcsd.net

Oliver

Raven Garrett – garrettr@russellcsd.net

Terrence Darden – dardent@russellcsd.net

RCHS

Cynthia Ambrose - ambrosec@russellcsd.net

Ruth Dutch - dutchr@russellcsd.net

Howard Eubanks - eubanksh@russellcsd.net

Marnii Peel -  peelm@russellcsd.net

 

RCMS

Laura Baker – bakerl@russellcsd.net

Michael Gabbard – gabbardm@russellcsd.net

Shavonnie Perkins – perkinss@russellcsd.net

MOPS

Sherin James Wright – jamessh@russellcsd.net

 

 

 

 

Problem Solving Team ( PST)

The Russell County School District’s Problem Solving Team (PST) provides immediate aid through an RTI plan for students in general education who are struggling academically and/or behaviorally. The ...more

TLC FUN

Gifted Program

For more information on our Gifted Program, please read the Gifted Brochure

Section 504

The federal Government developed section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as a way to address the many disabilities not covered under IDEA. Section 504 is a far-reaching law that extends ...more